omg food: Homemade Bubble Tea (Attempt #1)

If there’s one thing I can’t live without, it’s bubble tea.
After going to New York City and living right across the street from the most amazing bubble tea shop, I decided to come home and make my own. Sadly, it didn’t all go as planned.
So first off I bought all my materials: brown sugar, white sugar, black tea, and tapioca pearls. First mistake. I bought the small white kind because I was stupid and didn’t look at what I actually got. Facepalm.
Anyways, the reason why it didn’t work that well was because the small white tapioca pearls took forever to boil, and even then they weren’t completely boiled through. They kind of…uh melted off at the sides and made this gooey substance that coated the pot and took me a long time to scrub off. Sigh. All in all, I boiled them for an hour and a half and continously stirred. And stirred. And stirred.
While the pearls were cooking, I cooked my magical syrup (aka a whole lot of white sugar and brown sugar dumped into a small pot of boiling water). Then I set it out to cool and also boiled my tea.
After the tapioca pearls were relatively boiled and everything was cooled down, I strained out all the goopey stuff in the tapioca pearl pot and rinsed it with water. Then I just dumped the whole thing in the magical syrup and let it sit for about 20 minutes.
Usually bubble tea shops use evaporated milk, but since I didn’t have that, I used my Horizon Organic 2% milk. I first spooned some pearls and syrup into each cup, and then added tea. Then, I poured my milk over it and stirred. How much you add is really a matter of taste. I added a lot of syrup because I like sweet stuff. It actually turned out pretty nice and yummy, and I watched the Olympics while sipping bubble tea.
Too bad I couldn’t sleep for hours afterwards because I had it right before bed. Sigh.

-hils
Website: https://owlonabraintree.wordpress.com
This post is part of a series of posts called omg food.

One thought on “omg food: Homemade Bubble Tea (Attempt #1)

  1. Pingback: omg food: Homemade Bubble Tea (Attempt #2) | owl on a brain tree

what do you think?

