Poetry: Hi to a Stranger

Inspired by recent events

“HI TO A STRANGER”
chair squeaks. your
fingers drum on your desk. so close
but a stranger.
the fact that you sat next to me
gives me hope. head turns.
i investigate from the corner of my eye.
waiting for the right
moment. look away. steel myself.
open my mouth, words bubbling up from my throat. should i say hi? should i introduce myself first?
should i look you in the eye?
i hesitate, then finally turn to you, taking a breath of anticipation…
you’re already gone.

-hils
Website: https://owlonabraintree.wordpress.com
This post is part of a series of posts called Artistic Inclinations.

what do you think?

