DIY: Miu Miu Inspired Glitter Sneakers

So I saw this glorious DIY on Honesty WTF (I love their blog) and had to do it; I had a pair of white canvas shoes that I had gotten at Target for $10 that I had doodled on beforehand, but I wasn’t really liking the design anymore.

I changed things up a bit; I preferred silver to gold and didn’t really like the rhinestones in front. So what I decided to do instead was paint the front design off and just make the whole rest of the shoe silver glitter. I used this huge can of glitter from A.C. Moore, Mod Podge (I trust everything I do with that stuff), a thick brush, tape, and white paint (lol you can see I’m studying hard this summer).

I first taped the edges of the shoe and the front part that I didn’t want to be glitter-fied.

Next, I mixed 1/3 part Mod Podge and 2/3 part glitter so it was this kind of clumpy paste and just layered it on. After letting the first layer dry a bit, I layered on anothe layer until all the white spots were gone.

And of course (this always happens), glitter accident. You think I would learn and go sit on a table to do this, but it’s so inconvenient.

I layered on a final layer of just Mod Podge and let it dry again. Then I took off the tape and…magic!

As an afterthought, since I painted the tips white but the black Sharpie still showed up, I think I’m going to the craft store again and buying white glitter. :)

-hils
Website: https://owlonabraintree.wordpress.com
This post is part of a series of posts called DIY.

2 thoughts on “DIY: Miu Miu Inspired Glitter Sneakers

  1. THAT’S AWESOME. I mean…they looked cool before you glittered them and after. Your doodling is neat. I may have to try this out.

what do you think?

