CHSN: IVs and Passing Out

I am deathly afraid of needles.

So when I passed out in the street (hey, I was really stressed) and woke up to find this nice firefighter taking blood from my hand and then whisking me into an ambulance with people standing all around and my mom literally freaking out, I wasn’t worried. I was kind of in this nice little stupor where I kept telling my mom in a slurred voice, “Hey Mom it’s okay. I’m all right. I just had a nap.” No, I wasn’t drunk. I was just stressed. And I had just had this medicine from the doctor because I was having a severe allergic reaction to something or another.

Passing out was not at all like it was in the movies. In the movies it’s always blinking slowly while vision gets blurry, and then black. For me, I was hanging onto my mom’s arm while walking out of a restaurant, holding my iced tea in my other hand. Everything was going white around the edges and kind of swimming in. And the world was waving. It was pretty weird. Anyways I’m pretty sure I said something like, “Mom, calm down, but I think I’m going to pass out.” And then I’m not sure what happened next, but when I opened my eyes again, I was laying in the middle of the road and people were calling on their cell phones and my mom was just running around the place.

Since the EMS saw that I was awake and everything, two firefighters helped me stand up and I stumbled to the ambulance. Then this lady told me to sit. Well I was still feeling kind of weird at that point so I asked her if I could lay down. There was a nice bed there but she said no. So I sat. And passed out again on the bench.

The next thing I knew I was opening my eyes and the nurse was like, “I’m just going to stick this IV up your arm…” and I really fully awoke.

Me: Okay.
Me (on the inside): HOLY CRAP WHAT HOW LONG IS THAT NEEDLE HOW IS IT GOING TO FIT IN MY ARM HOW AM I EVEN GOING TO BEND MY ARM WITH THAT THING IN MY ELBOW WTFFFF.

And then I’m pretty sure I passed out again because of that needle thing. It didn’t really hurt when it went in, but it was just scary having that sharp thingie in my arm.

Like I said, passing out is not at all what it’s like in the movies. There was no attractive male running alongside my bed. My mom was there though, freaking out. I think that’s usually in the movies. Of course I ended up being the one trying to comfort her while I lay in a hospital bed with an IV stuck up my arm. Oh joy.

(Just another example of how Hollywood these days are giving teenagers delusional thoughts.)

-hils
Website: https://owlonabraintree.wordpress.com
This post is part of a series of posts called Confessions of a High School Nerd.

5 thoughts on “CHSN: IVs and Passing Out

  1. I can relate :) I didn’t exactly pass out, but in China, I got heatstroke (my temperature went to 41 degrees Celsius, but I had a slight 38 degrees fever before because I was just sick) and had to be sent to the hospital too, where they did blood tests and such. Since I was dehydrated, I had to go to the hospital for two days straight, and they stuck an IV drip in me for three hours each day. :\
    In Chinese hospitals, they basically use IV drips to cure everything, and there’s this room with chairs next to each other. Kind of like the waiting areas in airport terminals. And the girl next to me was drunk and delusional. her face was so pale. it scared me.

    I don’t remember much of it except for the fact that I couldn’t see anything when I immediately stood up after lying down for a while (low blood sugar?) and my vision was clouded even after.
    so, yeah. :D

what do you think?

