Design: Food Labels

artistic inclinations

So I was “commissioned” to design food labels for a school food stand. I don’t know if you’ve figured out by now but my style is relatively cutesy. I guess. Anyways, I designed all of these on iMac’s Sketchbook Copic Edition app with the handy-dandy but not very reliable Magic Mouse. So. I just wanted to share some of my favorites out of all of them with you all!

I wanted to do something fun with the food, and hence Peanuts came into the picture.

Peanuts2

And I just wanted to show the Cheez-its because this frikkin took me several hours to shade.

CheezIts2

And lastly, the Nutrigrain bars, because I usually don’t like to eat them, but I enjoyed drawing them.

NutrigrainBars2

All in all, I think I designed 13 different labels, and then I’m currently working on an overall sign.

You might be wondering why there’s such a huge space at the bottom. Well actually, after I printed them out, I laminated them and so the people running the food stand could change the prices easily by just writing on the laminated surface with dry-erase.

Naturally, been trying to keep myself busy in order not to think of things. Best way to get over any type of bad feeling–work your butt off.

-hils
Website: https://owlonabraintree.wordpress.com
This post is part of a series of posts called Artistic Inclinations.

what do you think?

