omg food: Cookie Dough Truffles

omgfood Logo

Well darling readers, I’m not sure if these are technically “truffles”, but they’re so delicious that I don’t even care. Chocolate covered cookie dough. Who came up with this idea? Just brilliant. Last night I was craving cookie dough, but I knew my mum would probably have a cow if I sat at the table eating spoons of raw cookie dough, so I found these amazing treats. All the other recipes I looked at called for sweetened condensed milk, but who has that lying around in their pantry? Certainly not me! So here’s the recipe for heavenly deliciousness:

Ingredients:

  1. 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  2. 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter (softened)
  3. 3/4 cup granulated (white) sugar
  4. 3/4 cup brown sugar
  5. 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  6. 3/4 teaspoon salt
  7. 1-2 teaspoons milk
  8. 2 cups chocolate chips (1 12 oz. package)
  9. 10-12 ounces Baker’s chocolate

A few notes about the ingredients:

  1. This is adapted from the original Nestle Toll House chocolate chip cookie recipe.
  2. You can use all 2 cups of chocolate chips if you’d like, but when I put in 2 cups, it was a little difficult to keep the dough together, so I’d imagine using 1 cup or 1 1/2 cups would be easier.
  3. I used mini chocolate chips because we didn’t have anything else, but I think regular ones work just as well.
  4. There are no eggs or baking soda in this recipe. My family does not bake with eggs, so I was going to use egg replacer, but then I thought, what’s the point, since they’re not for baking? And so I decided to leave out both eggs (egg replacer, in my case) and baking soda.
  5. There is regular milk in the recipe in order to keep the dough together more, but this depends entirely on how sticky your dough turns out.
  6. Other recipes used “candy coating” chocolate or something, but I like Baker’s Chocolate.

Okay, now on to making the actual truffles:

  1. Beat the butter, white sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla together until the mixture is creamy.
  2. Add in the salt. Mix.
  3. Add in flour, a little bit at a time. Mix after each addition.
  4. Mix in the chocolate chips. Mix the dough well.
  5. At this point, try and form a ball from the dough. Is it sticking together well? Yes? You’re good. Is it crumbly? Yes? Add in a little bit of milk at a time until you can form a ball of dough that sticks together well.
  6. Make the dough into balls (whatever size you want works. I used two tablespoons for each of mine).
  7. Put all the dough balls onto a plate, cover it, and stick it in the fridge (or freezer) to cool and harden. I let mine sit for about 20-25 minutes, but honestly, I doubt it matters.
  8. Using a double boiler (see these instructions on a homemade double boiler if you’re unsure), melt the Baker’s Chocolate. I suggest melting 2 or 3 ounces at a time so that it doesn’t cool and harden while you dip.
  9. Take each dough ball and roll it in the melted chocolate. Put it onto wax paper on a plate.
  10. Put the plate of chocolate-covered cookie dough balls into the fridge to cool and harden. Again, it doesn’t matter how long. You just need the chocolate to set.
  11. ENJOY :)

My sisters thought these were useless and thought I was crazy. But I think they’re wonderful :) I hope you all enjoy them!

Featured image from http://www.charterfitness.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/172824-chocolate-heart-of-chocolate.jpg

-purplepennedwriter
Website: https://owlonabraintree.wordpress.com
This post is part of a series of posts called omg food.

what do you think?

