TOL: Thoughts on Disappointment

I always have a picture of how I want things to work out. Usually my expectations are really high and mostly unrealistic. Of course, this isn’t too good, because that means when things don’t work out the way I expect them to, I end up being very disappointed.

I can usually handle disappointment quite well, because I understand that life isn’t as perfect and ideal as I imagine it to be. If it were, everyone would be happy and there would be no pain or war or sadness or negativity. Of course, this could never happen. Without the bad parts of life, we cannot appreciate the good parts. A balance is necessary. But when I am disappointed repeatedly in a short time span, I find it so disheartening. And I get so tired of it. There’s only so much I can take.

Perhaps because my expectations are so high, I am constantly prone to disappointment. And perhaps I should learn to lower my expectations, because I don’t know about you, but I hate being disappointed. It’s bad, but I’ve gotten to the point where I almost expect disappointment, because it happens so often. And yet I still manage to set myself up for disappointment time and time again. Shouldn’t I know better by now? I really wish people would live up to my expectations. Just a few people. I understand that that is difficult, but it’s not impossible. Like come on, really? Why is it so hard to find people like that?

-eves
Website: https://owlonabraintree.wordpress.com
This post is part of a series of posts called Thoughts on Life.

what do you think?